top of page

Four things YOU can do to save Healthcare Coverage!


Over 300,000 of our neighbors are at risk of losing their healthcare coverage with the upcoming Medicaid cutoffs, yet a bill that would make it even more difficult to access these life-saving benefits is currently passing through our state legislature.

As the 4 million Wisconsinites who support Medicaid expansion, we need to use our voices and call on the Joint Finance Committee to do their job and truly represent the people.

ACTION ONE Call 1-2 members of the Joint Finance Committee and email at least one of their staff, asking them to support Medicaid/BadgerCare expansion in the upcoming budget. JFC members and their staff, along with contact information, are listed below:

  • Rep. Born (Co-Chair, Assembly District 39) -- 608-237-9139

    • Kelly Elmes - Kelly.Elmes@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Patrick Gehl - Patrick.Gehl@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Sen. Marklein (Co-Chair, Senate District 17) -- 608-266-0703

    • Katy Prange - Katy.Prange@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Connor Buss - Connor.Buss@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Rep. Katsma (Vice Chair, Assembly District 26) -- 608-237-9126

    • Suzy Geroux - Suzy.Geroux@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Anna Knocke - Anna.Knocke@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Sen. Stroebel (Vice Chair, Senate District 20) -- 608-266-7513

    • John Soper - John.Soper@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Eric Brooks - Eric.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Sen. Felzkowski (Senate District 12) -- 608-266-2509

    • Collin Driscoll - Collin.Driscoll@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Rachel Drost - Rachel.Drost@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Sen. Ballweg (Senate District 14) -- 608-266-0751

    • Bethany Rasmussen - Bethany.Rasmussen@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Drew Hanstedt - Drew.Hanstedt@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Sen. Testin (Senate District 24) -- 608-266-3123

    • Jason Knack - Jason.Knack@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Christina Nelson - Christina.Nelson@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Sen. Wimberger (Senate District 30) -- 608-266-5670

    • Zachary Stollfus - Zachary.Stollfus@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Bill Kloiber - Bill.Kloiber@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Sen. L. Johnson (Senate District 6) -- 608-266-2500

    • Lacy Fox - Lacy.Fox@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Brett Halverson - Brett.Halverson@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Sen. Roys (Senate District 26) -- 608-266-1627

    • George Gillis - George.Gillis@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Cecely Castillo - Cecely.Castillo@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Rep. Zimmerman (Assembly District 30) -- 608-237-9130

    • Mark Austinson - Mark.Austinson@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Al Colvin - Al.Colvin@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Rep. Rodriguez (Assembly District 21) -- 608-237-9121

    • Calvin Stoflet - Calvin.Stoflet@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Kaitlyn Wender - Kaitlyn.Wender@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Rep. Kurtz (Assembly District 50) -- 608-237-9150

    • Joseph Severance - Joseph.Severance@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Danielle Zimmerman - Danielle.Zimmerman@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Rep. Dallman (Assembly District 41) -- 608-237-9141

    • Ryan Ring - Ryan.Ring@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Cassidy Sommer - Cassidy.Sommer@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Rep. Goyke (Assembly District 18) -- 608-237-9118

    • Ryan Knocke - Ryan.Knocke@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Elena Kruse - Elena.Kruse@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Rep. McGuire (Assembly District 64) -- 608-237-9164

    • Dan Housh - Dan.Housh@legis.wisconsin.gov

    • Quinn Marita - Quinn.Marita@legis.wisconsin.gov


ACTION TWO Write to your Senator and encourage them to OPPOSE SB 245. This bill would hugely alter the process of re-enrollment for BadgerCare by:

  • requiring individuals to requalify every 6 months rather than every year

  • cutting automatic re-enrollment

  • prohibiting prefilled forms

  • fining and/or barring people from being eligible for 6 months if they miss a reporting deadline for any reason

  • creating a data sharing agreement with any source that maintains financial and personal information about residents of Wisconsin

ACTION THREE

Watch the recording our recent People's Voice on Healthcare virtual forum to hear the stories of our neighbors who are directly impacted by the for-profit healthcare system.

ACTION FOUR

Tell YOUR story! Using our voices is one of the most powerful things we can do in this movement. If you have a healthcare story you would like to share, please reply to this email (wisconsin@poorpeoplescampaign.org) and a member of the coordinating committee will reach out.

0 comments
bottom of page